Picking Captains

Discussion in 'Coach' started by 808SoccerCoach, Aug 9, 2014.

1. 808SoccerCoach

808SoccerCoach New Member

Jul 29, 2014
    With my team picked and the first few practices behind us, I have turned my attention to picking team captains. in my experience, team captain's have been vital to building a successful team. leadership and communication can not always be left to a coach… especially while in game on the field… and having effective captain's can be the difference between a team folding in crunch time under pressure or pulling together, turning the tide and scoring a winning a goal at the end.

in my experience as an assistant coach, i've had the luxury of seeing how several different coaches approach the assigning of team captains. the most popular are by player vote, coach pick or some combination of the two. i've seen these different strategies work well or fail depending on the situation.

With my first go at this as a head coach i'm trying to take the best of everything i've seen so far and put my own personal spin on it based on books i've read about leadership and nation building. Let me preface this by saying also, that based on my experience as well as the information i've seen on the subject is that there are two very effective ways of governing: democracy and military dictatorship.

As Americans, we have seen first hand how well democracy has worked in this country. It is the basis for personal individual success and freedom that we have seen in our nation. On the other hand, other countries have found success and STABILITY using military dictatorships. Obviously, some of these countries under military dictatorships also suffer huge humanitarian atrocities, but they are also extremely effective at getting a large group of people to act in unison towards a common goal.

That being said, I will employ a means of determining team captains that take both strategies into consideration.